What You Should Know About Farsali Unicorn Essence

What You Should Know About Farsali Unicorn Essence
It’s difficult to scroll through your social media feed today without seeing your favorite beauty influencers promoting the latest product craze by Farsali called Unicorn Essence. This product was originally released in the winter of 2016 with the name Unicorn Tears before quickly renaming it and changing the scent due to a trademark issue. Farsali is a fairly new up-and-coming brand that grew very fast off the backs of popular social media beauty influencers, who are quick to promote a “free” product that looks pretty and smells nice. Customers were originally transfixed by their first product called Rose Gold Elixer with the little gold flakes and now by their Unicorn Essence with the pink shimmer and cotton candy smell. But buyer beware because not everything you see your favorite influencer promoting is good, nor do all the products they promote actually work the way they claim they do. Some products they promote can actually be harmful and cause issues such as skin sensitivities, irritation, acne, and worse.
As a true beauty junkie and beauty blogger, it’s my responsibility to truly test out and research any products that I recommend.  I am not sponsored by any companies, owned by any management companies, nor do I receive the mounds of free PR that many influencers receive. When an influencer receives free PR, that doesn’t necessarily mean they will throw all integrity out the window and promote a certain product just because it was given to them for free. But many do, and it’s important to understand how it works.  This is how the most popular influencers actually make their living. They are not just given products for free, but they are paid very large sums of money to post a single photo of them using a product on Instagram or to post a video of them using that product. They don’t just promote products out of the goodness of their heart. There’s a few honest large influencers, but they are becoming more difficult to find and the exception to the rule. Why is this important to know?  Well, this entire brand with their 2 most popular products soared in customer recognition by using this social media advertising method, yet you’ll find very few (if any) influencers who actually conduct real research on the Farsali products and provide you with an outline showing their results over an extended period of time. Actually, they make blanket claims found on the product packaging but usually never have actual personal experiences or results to back up what they say. 
It’s very easy to fall for the hype of an Instagram product, especially the Farsali Unicorn Essence. After all, who can resist that beautiful pink shimmering serum that has tiny sparkes and smells like cotton candy? It was originally advertised as a “primer” to be applied before makeup, to extend your makeup wear throughout the day while providing skincare benefits. It really does none of that though. I encourage you to challenge any influencer who claims otherwise by requesting actual data such as Before/After photos and test results, i.e., a time indicator outlining the benefits they saw over a certain period of time (e.g., 1 week, 4 weeks, 6 weeks, etc.). Ask them, “How much longer did your makeup wear last when you wore it compared to a day when you didn’t wear it or any other primer product?”  Hold them accountable.
Even I succumbed to the hype of this product being splashed all over social media when I purchased it during the recent Sephora VIB sale. Farsali Unicorn ElixerYes, due to the large demand of this pink shimmering product, Sephora is now selling it online and in their stores. I have a rule:  I don’t review skincare products and make any claims or recommendations until I’ve used a skincare product for at least 4 – 6 weeks. Skincare products aren’t magic. They can’t deliver long-term results within 24 hours, and such claims are usually exaggerated. Sure, there are claims such as peels and microdermabrasion treatments where you’ll notice some immediate benefits such as brighter skin, but the fact remains that there’s no “miracle in a jar” that can deliver results that last for days/weeks after just a few uses. It’s one of my largest pet peeves when I see people posting glowing 5-star reviews on a skincare product after using it just a day.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t use this product for 4 – 6 weeks in order to provide an assessment on possible long-term benefits.  Why?
Let’s start by looking at the ingredient list, which I was aware of before purchasing but failed to take into proper consideration.  Ingredients are important, whether it’s your food or skincare and makeup.  When you look at the ingredients in this product, it’s almost shocking. Over half of this product consists of fillers, fragrance, and dyes. There are actually very few ingredients in this bottle that can benefit your skin, yet there are many ingredients known to cause irritation and potentially harmful effects. If you’re not aware, the website COSDNA.com is an excellent source to research a skincare/makeup product’s ingredients and understand any potential issues those ingredients can cause. Each ingredient is outlined with its ranking on an Acne/Irritant/Safety scale.  In general, ingredients listed at the top of a product’s listing are found in greater concentrations compared to ingredients listed at the end of the list. That doesn’t mean the ingredients listed last are acceptable though, just because they are included in smaller concentrations.
I wore this product for 3 days before I had to stop using it. The “cotton candy” fragrance found in this product isn’t subtle. It’s very strong and overwhelming and unfortunately doesn’t dissipate after application. The strong scent literally lasts all day, and I got constant whiffs of it every time I inhaled. That may sound good if you’re wearing a perfume, but it’s not a positive trait in a skincare product. Fragrance is a known irritant that can cause irritation and sensitivity issues in many people. Aside from skin irritation, it can even trigger migraines in people who are predisposed to those issues. But did you know that fragrance in skincare can also increase the aging process of your skin?  Yep, added fragrance in skincare products actually assist in the break-down of collagen in your skin and cause your skin to age much faster than normal, leading to more wrinkles and deeper wrinkles.  I certainly don’t need a product that causes wrinkles. At the age of 41, I’m aging fast enough, thank you.
The serum has a water-like consistency that absorbs immediately into the skin. I don’t see any way whatsoever that this product can perform as a “primer” and make your makeup last longer, anymore than my other makeup serums would. That’s not what the ingredients in this product are intended to do. I’ve seen some pretty big claims for this product, including that it will help your eye makeup and concealer last longer without creasing. That is all hype with no actual results behind it. If someone makes that claim, ask them what other products they applied to their skin prior to their makeup application. In my experience, this product certainly won’t fill in large pores or even out your skin texture for an even, long-wearing makeup application. I found no benefits or results to substantiate this as a makeup primer.
There are multiple dyes in this product: Red 40, Red 33, Red 4, Blue 1.  Seriously!? There is absolutely no beneficial reason for a skincare product to contain so many different dyes. Those dyes go directly into your skin, your largest body organ, and cause irritation and other skin issues. It also contains Mica, which causes the colored shimmer in the product that everyone is in awe of. It’s not necessary though, and it has absolutely zero skin benefits. Why do we want to buy a shimmery skincare product when it can cause irritation, other skin issues, and even potentially expedites the aging process?
The question remains…. Why would any company produce a supposed skincare product such as “Unicorn Essence” in a marketplace where customers are becoming more and more educated and aware about skincare ingredients and their benefits? The answer is simple. They’re banking, quite literally, on the fact that there are still thousands of unassuming customers who will see the pretty shimmering serum with the fantasy unicorn name, used by their favorite influencers, and still be willing to give it a try…. just like I was. It’s time though for customers like you and me to use our knowledge and buying power to change this industry for the better. Companies will only give us better products that actually work when we demand them. When we settle for pink, smelly glitter in a bottle at a high price, that’s what they’ll continue to deliver.

Product Information

Ingredients for Farsali Unicorn Essence – Water, Propanediol, Glycerin, Polysorbate 20, Glyceryl Polyacrylate, Euterpe Oleracea (Açaí) Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract, Lycium Barbarum (Goji) Fruit Extract, Sambucus Nigra (Elder Berry) Fruit Extract, Tamarindus Indica Seed Polysaccharide, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Red 40, Red 33, Red 4, Blue 1, Mica, Titanium Dioxide.

Where to Buy: Sephora
Price: $54 for 1 oz
Have you tried the Farsali Unicorn Elixer? What are your thoughts? Comment below or visit me on Instagram. Let’s chat!
Follow:
Legal Disclaimer: The content on this site is provided for general informational purposes only. The opinions expressed here are mine and not those of any advertiser, company, affiliate or group. I try to provide accurate information, but I am not a makeup artist, medical doctor or expert in any field. Please do not consider my opinions to be substitutes for sound professional advice. The information on the blog may change without notice and is not guaranteed to be complete, correct or up-to-date. While I try to update the blog on a regular basis, it may not always reflect the most current developments. None of the content or opinions expressed here are ever meant to harm or malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company or individual. Everything expressed is my personal opinion. All content published on the blog is protected by copyright, and any unauthorized copying, reproduction, republishing, uploading, posting, transmitting or duplicating of any of the material is prohibited without my express written permission. To obtain permission to copy portions of the blog, please send an e-mail to info@mybeautifulflaws.com.

39 Comments

  1. Elisse
    April 24, 2017 / 3:05 pm

    This post was absolutely eye opening. Thank you so much for writing about this. I certainly can fall for the hype but I’m trying to become more aware of what I’m purchasing. I’ve been doing more research before I buy something whether skincare, makeup, food, etc. But I never even thought to consider claims from influencers who post glowing reviews of products. It’s just so easy to believe they tried something for the appropriate time frame before writing a review. Although, I guess if I was getting paid thousands of dollars for just posting a pic of myself using a product I’d be tempted to not put the product to the test either. Ah, well. Live and learn. Thanks again!

    19
  2. Christina
    May 22, 2017 / 8:43 am

    Thank you for doing such an amazing and in depth review! You’ve really broken the product down and showed us the scary reality of what’s actually in it! I have unfortunately fallen for the hype of products promoted by some of my favourite influencers (that I trusted to be giving me their honest thoughts, opinions and results). As much as I’m digging the unicorn craze at the moment, this product has (dispite the hype), never been on my ‘to buy list’. I have very acne prone skin and products like this usually cause my skin to have horrid break outs so I avoid them lat all costs! -@christinashaw96 ❤️

    7
  3. La Descarada
    May 24, 2017 / 2:27 pm

    Ahh finally a blog with honest opinions

    9
  4. Anonymous
    July 16, 2017 / 10:10 am

    Awesome review, exactly what I was looking for: the truth! Saving this blog as favorite to consult!!

    5
    • My Beautiful Flaws
      Author
      July 18, 2017 / 11:12 am

      Thank you so much for your feedback and support. I really appreciate it and hope you’ll come back to visit.

      2
  5. Preety
    July 31, 2017 / 3:59 am

    Thank you so much for the honest review. I wish I had read this before I purchased mine. unfortnatly I fell for the hype on Instagram and applied it on my face before applying my foundation etc. My face was so itchy thoughiut the day. I washed my face with cold water and. Kticed small bumps on my face. I’m few minutes my cheeks and eye area was swollen. Please don’t make the same mistake I made, if you are thinking about purchasing this product try a sample first before wasting your money. 🙁

    5
  6. Jasminn B
    August 10, 2017 / 2:35 pm

    What scent does the Farsali Unicorn Essence have?

    1
  7. MzKittie
    August 31, 2017 / 5:24 pm

    Are there any facial oils you would recommend? Thank you sooo much for posting this info. I was just about to purchase, but I like to google everything first! I’m going to save your blog and browse it for past information I a, sure I will benifit from. Thank you for being honest!! 💖👍🏻

    1
    • My Beautiful Flaws
      Author
      August 31, 2017 / 9:58 pm

      Hi. Thank you so much for your support, and I do hope you’ll bookmark my blog and return again. 🙂 I plan to write an article on facial oils very soon. It’s been a long work in progress because it’s a topic that can get quite scientific. It’s difficult to recommend an oil without knowing your skin type, as they are all different. There are oils meant for people with dry skin, acne issues, anti-aging, and more. I have dry skin, and I’m 42. One of the first oils I started using was the Fresh Seaberry Moisturizing Face Oil. I LOVE this oil! It’s pretty great for just about any skin type. I have literally been using the same bottle for a year. I put 2 drops into my serums/moisturizer every morning and night. It’s not greasy and it absorbs quickly. It contains omegas 3, 6, 7 and 9. My next favorite oil is The Ordinary 100% Cold-Pressed Virgin Marula Oil. If you want a more expensive version (which isn’t any different), you can try the Drunk Elephant Marula Oil. It’s really changed my skin. It absorbs quickly, isn’t too thick or greasy, and is amazing to use on both your face and hair. For aging, I have been using 2 different oils. One is extremely expensive, but I bought it 1/2 off during a sale. It’s the Lancome Absolue Precious Oil. It has several essential oils, which is why it’s so expensive. Lastly, for anti-aging, I use the Drunk Elephant Flora oil, but it’s not one of my top favorites. Stay tuned for a complete review and blog on this topic soon. I recommending starting with the Fresh Seaberry Oil and also add in the Marula Oil. Hope that helps!

      5
  8. Anna
    September 3, 2017 / 1:47 pm

    Omg ! I was just about to purchase an oil from them – because let’s be honest – all the hype it’s getting on IG. I was looking it which one of the two oils should I get … I don’t know their name but the white bottle with gold leafs or the purple one … Anyways, I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog I’m def going to add yours to my links. Thank you for being so honest and fair.

    2
  9. Julie
    September 12, 2017 / 8:29 am

    You just saved me £50, so Thank you! Was going to get this one for my wedding, really glad I read your review before buying if. At 35 and a skincare fanatic I really should know better, think I got blinded by all the fuss in IG…lessons learned. Thanks

    1
    • My Beautiful Flaws
      Author
      September 12, 2017 / 9:09 am

      Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! I’m really glad you found my site and that I was able to help. We all get fascinated and sometimes blinded by the fancy advertisements and the cool videos posted online. This is one that is definitely over-hyped and has no benefits. There are much better things. If you follow my Instagram, I post a lot of mini-reviews there also. Thanks for your lovely feedback.

  10. Bobo
    September 12, 2017 / 8:15 pm

    I wish I had read your blog earlier…. I bought it but haven’t opened it, I am thinking I might gonna just throw it away

    1
  11. Nayab
    December 7, 2017 / 3:39 am

    Thanx for true suggestion. i was going to buy this then i thought i should go for reviews first.

  12. shumael
    December 20, 2017 / 7:16 am

    But unfortunately m late i already buy it as winter making my skin dul so i bought it even open it but still was searching review so find your site seriously i lost than .but still m hoping cause m going to use it as i dont want to waste my money

  13. Anonymous
    January 6, 2018 / 1:40 am

    Hi! The main culprits, to me, seem the citrus oils, which can irritate as fragrance and react with sunlight, as any real aromatherapist can warn you. There are purified versions without the photosensitizer, but citrus oils are notoriously irritating, especially on sensitive areas. Also, the artificial dyes have no place here.

  14. Honey
    January 19, 2018 / 9:01 am

    I actually have all 3, the rose gold, volcanic, and unicorn essence. I use the rose gold as a moisturizer, along w Oz Naturals hyaluronic acid applied first to a damp face. I use the volcanic oil at night. And I use Dermacol foundation, for those unfamiliar it’s VERY thick, and VERY full coverage. It covers literally any and all flaws, and has a pretty satin finish. And although this is a completely off label use, I apply the unicorn essence over my foundation, and before applying the rest of my makeup. It gives my face a pretty rosy glow. I like all 3, but the unicorn essence is my least favorite.

    3
  15. Anonymous
    March 7, 2018 / 1:04 pm

    i bought Farsali Unicorn Essence last month, when i first using it, i felt the warm sensation but it’s really make my face glowing with the make up on, but when i continue using it for 1 month, suddenly i’ve got 3 pimples on my chin, this is my first time in my life had 3 pimples in 1 time… is that related?? coz i never feel glowing anymore when i put this product on my face!

    • My Beautiful Flaws
      Author
      March 7, 2018 / 2:24 pm

      HI there. Absolutely, any time you use a product with as many unnecessary additives as this product has, it can definitely cause skin problems such as acne and other issues that you probably didn’t experience previously. Those effects may not occur immediately, but over time, the skin gets a little “angry” and will start acting out against the additional ingredients that it doesn’t like. In this particular product, there’s a lot of extra stuff in it that isn’t necessary whatsoever, such as the large amount of fragrance and glitter that I mentioned in my article. You initially received a glow because of the glitter and the shimmer addititives in the product, but the product certainly doesn’t contain any solid, proven ingredients known to cause your skin to show signs of improvement over time. To the contrary, it’s a gimmicky product that was targeted towards a younger population and shouldn’t be on the market, in my personal opinion. There are so many great primers and products available online that will help your skin in the short and long-term without causing those break-outs. If you need any sugggestions, write back and let me know what type of skin you have (dry, oily, or combo) as well as your age range, and I can give you some suggestions that I personally recommend. Thanks for your comment and support. Have a great day!

      1
  16. Sfvgal
    April 9, 2018 / 10:18 am

    Thank you for being so real & honest. I am disabled & bedridden due to an accident & I am also 42 so I’m trying to find oils & facial care that is fairly inexpensive as it’s pretty hard just getting disability especially when I worked in Fashion my entire life up until the accident so I was used to living a buy what I want when I want lifestyle. Anyway it really urks me that these ignorant people will still not listen to what you have said & will continue using these products. I was researching the unicorn essence by Farsali when I saw your link so I clicked on it & I’m glad that I did. I am not going to buy it now that I know the truth & anyone that will is just doing it to follow what they think the whole hype is by these Youtubers and IG peeps! I cannot stand people who are just followers grow up and live your own life! Anyways thank you again! And I will definitely start following your blog! I look forward to getting some advice on beauty oils & other skincare products! Do you do all cosmetics? I would like to know more about makeup as well! I will check out your blog a little more to see what all you blog about! So far I think you’re awesome!

    • My Beautiful Flaws
      Author
      April 23, 2018 / 1:04 pm

      Hi there! Thank you so much for all of your kind words and support. I hope you’ll continue to follow my blog. I also post a lot more on my Instagram page such as mini reviews. I absolutely post reviews on makeup. I have done a lot of reviews on skincare recently because I truly believe that good skin is the most important thing we can invest in versus products to cover up our flaws. At the same time, I have an enormous collection of makeup that I’ve invested in so I definitely post reviews on various items. If you ever want an unbiased opinion on a particular product, feel free to contact me. If I have it or can get it, I’m more than happy to review it if possible. Since I’m non-sponsored and not on PR lists, I have to be a little more careful with my spending but I try to buy the most popular things if I believe it’s good quality stuff. If you haven’t checked it out already, take a peek at my Instagram page since I post more frequently there and include a lot more mini reviews of various products. Again, thank you so much for your beautiful comments and feedback. I’m really sorry to hear about your accident. That’s horrible. I wish you the best. And if you ever have any questions, feel free to message me here or in Instagram.

  17. Ioana
    May 28, 2018 / 5:18 am

    Thank you very much for the honest review. As you said, we have to be very careful when we buy skin product. The only reason why I found out about this product was because of all these Instagram “celebrities” talking about how great it was. We definitely do need to become more educated when it comes to purchasing any product

  18. Amada Halter
    July 5, 2018 / 6:09 pm

    I am so happy that I found your blog and this article is absolutely great. Thank you for your honesty and in sharing your research on this and other products. Could you recommend something to really minimize pores and frown/eye lines.

  19. July 21, 2018 / 12:56 am

    I’m actually trying this because of the superfruit extracts. I had a sleeping mask that I liked with niacinamide and antioxidants (acai and blueberry extracts). I can’t get it anymore, and have been looking for a replacement, since it did give a very nice brightening effect the next morning. Assuming it was the niacinamide, I tried the Ordinary’s serum, but it was sticky and didn’t give any brightening. This unicorn goop was the only thing I could find with superfruit extracts, so I got the mini size. It actually does have a nice brightening effect, plus it isn’t oil based, which doesn’t work well on my skin. However, I have no interest in the pink or the sparkly (fun as it is), and I really hate fragrance. Have you heard of anything with acai/superfruit that you recommend?

    • My Beautiful Flaws
      Author
      July 29, 2018 / 3:10 am

      Let me do some research on this to see if I can find you a better product with the ingredients you mentioned, that doesn’t have all that glitter and additives to it. The problem with the Farsali product is that all of the glitter they add to it can actually undo the benefits of all the positive ingredients. So you may think you’re helping your skin with some of the ingredients, but other ingredients are actually causing harm. I know there are other products that are much better, but I need a moment to confirm what they are. Also, you mentioned niacinamide. There are many great products with that in it. One of my favorites is the new Tarte Knockout Tingling Treatment. It has acids in it with niacinamide, and it’s the first thing I apply after cleansing my skin every morning and night (you may have to implement it slowly until your skin adjusts). Also, you can try the niacinamide serum from The Ordinary. It’s very inexpensive and a great option. A great new product line to check out is called Youth to the People. They are a vegan skincare line that uses a lot of natural, raw ingredients. I’ve been using their cleanser and recently tried out their Kale + Spinach Green Tea Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizer, which is excellent. I’ll get back to you on the other products that have more fruit extract ingredients in them. Oh, also check out products by the brand Fresh. They create a lot of products that contain natural ingredients and fruit extracts. One of my favorite products is their Seaberry Oil. They have a ton of other products with similar fresh ingredients. You really can’t go wrong with that brand.

  20. Raluca BARA
    August 16, 2018 / 4:20 am

    I was just about to buy it… really can’t thank you enough!
    Straightforward, knowledgeable and 100% honest, truly helpful!

    Once again, THANK YOU.. <3

  21. Anonymous
    August 29, 2018 / 6:34 pm

    I just tried it and i don’t like the feeling it leaves once it’s dry. It seems sticky. I actually purchased it through the app WISH. It doesn’t have a nice smell at all. Not a fan.

  22. Erika
    September 10, 2018 / 1:00 am

    3 days and this product made my forehead breakout BADLY. I’m disgusted with it and I hate myself for falling into the IG hype of it and not researching it before applying

Leave a Comment and Share Your Thoughts Below!